top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdiela Akoo

AS YOU PERCEIVE




AS YOU PERCEIVE


I am a flower that blooms

perfume filtering the air

I am a veiled mystery

to hearts that don't understand

and eyes that cannot yet see...


I am a reflection

I am a teacher

I am the lesson

I am the yang and the yin

I am the quiet voice amidst the din


I am a stranger, and stranger yet

I am a beloved friend

a secret well kept

I am a seeker

and I have been sought


I have been crushed and ground

tempered by fire

I have been dead

and I have been reborn

with passion and desire


I am strong, yet gentle

fiery, yet cool

creating from destruction

I am nurturing, and feel you

in the hidden depths of your soul


I am ancient and I am young

I am a germinating seed

I write and I am written

I belong to The Love Creed!


But I remain, only as you perceive...




copyright Adiela Akoo





 

This poem won the Poetry in my Mind August 2019 Poem Contest. It has been translated into Turkish, Bangla, and Odia. It has been published in The Penmen Review, SUFI Magazine, Best of Africa, Our Poetry Archive, Ozofe, ILA Magazine, World Poetry Tree, Best Emerging Poets of 2019, and Best New African Poets of 2020.



 

As You Perceive by Adiela Akoo Wins 'Poetry In My Mind Poem Contest' - August 2018
As You Perceive - Adiela Akoo

AS YOU PERCEIVE   I am a flower that blooms perfume filtering the air I am a veiled mystery to hearts that don't understand and eyes that cannot yet see...  I am a reflection I am a teacher I am the lesson I am the yang and the yin I am the quiet voice amidst the din  I am a stranger, and stranger yet I am a beloved friend a secret well kept I am a seeker and I have been sought  I have been crushed and ground tempered by fire I have been dead and I have been reborn with passion and desire  I am strong, yet gentle fiery, yet cool creating from destruction I am nurturing, and feel you in the hidden depths of your soul  I am ancient and I am young I am a germinating seed I write and I am written I belong to The Love Creed!  But I remain, only as you perceive...    copyright Adiela Akoo
As You Perceive by Adiela Akoo with Turkish translation by Hanifi Kaplan

AS YOU PERCEIVE   I am a flower that blooms perfume filtering the air I am a veiled mystery to hearts that don't understand and eyes that cannot yet see...  I am a reflection I am a teacher I am the lesson I am the yang and the yin I am the quiet voice amidst the din  I am a stranger, and stranger yet I am a beloved friend a secret well kept I am a seeker and I have been sought  I have been crushed and ground tempered by fire I have been dead and I have been reborn with passion and desire  I am strong, yet gentle fiery, yet cool creating from destruction I am nurturing, and feel you in the hidden depths of your soul  I am ancient and I am young I am a germinating seed I write and I am written I belong to The Love Creed!  But I remain, only as you perceive...    copyright Adiela Akoo
As You Perceive by Adiela Akoo with Bangla translation by Mizanur Rahman

60 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page