top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdiela Akoo

'abba's gone!'


Adiela Akoo Poetry - Abba's Gone! - And fragments of other memories come trickling in, of you playfully running in a circle away from me, in the spacious passage of number 13 Soni's, Pmb saying: 'Spook! Spook! Are you a ghost chasing me?' And of me, around three, running after you saying: 'No, Abba! I'm not! See! I'm me!' As I caught up to you and held onto your leg you were smiling, with a twinkle in your eye
Adiela Akoo - 'Abba's Gone!'

'Abba's Gone!'


When we hear news of death

we're taught to say:

'Inna Lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un'

'From God we come, and to Him is our return'

and to pass the message on

to at least three people...


But when they told me about you

I blanked out because just a short while ago

they'd said you were being discharged

they were taking you home

and now I hear:

'Adiela! Did you hear what I said?'

'Abba's gone!'


Abba's gone?? It wasn't registering!

On autopilot I pass on the news

put up a status:'Inna Lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un'

but can't seem to bring myself

to attach your name to it

I can only add broken hearts...


Broken hearts! Because mine was broken

for so many reasons:

This death, all around, creeping ever closer!

Yours! A heart attack they'd said!

This pandemic! That won't let me be

with my loved ones

won't let me attend your mayat!


YOUR mayat?? Miles away

I offer Esha salaah

raise my hands to make dua

but I'm still in shock!

I can't think - leave only my emotions with Allah

then take my kitab to read Yaseen

but the words begin to tear and blur

so I recite from memory...


And fragments of other memories

come trickling in, of you

playfully running in a circle

away from me, in the spacious passage

of number 13 Soni's, Pmb

saying: 'Spook! Spook!

Are you a ghost chasing me?'

And of me, around three, running after you

saying: 'No, Abba! I'm not! See! I'm me!'

As I caught up to you and held onto your leg

you were smiling, with a twinkle in your eye


You had that same proud twinkle in your eye

when you looked at me, on my wedding day

and walked me down the aisle, years later


How the years have flown by...

Echoes of the past, slowly give way

to the present, as I'm sent a link

to the live stream of your janazah


YOUR JANAZAH!! Overlooking Table Mountain

and Zeekoevlei on this cold, windy day

and just as they pick you up

to take you away, the camera gets blown over

But with that gust of wind, my words

come floating back - to memorialize this moment

I stare at the screen, through tears

and sobbingly mutter: 'Abba's gone!

Abba's really gone!'



Adiela Akoo


 

In loving memory of my beloved maternal uncle, Dr Abdurrazak Ebrahim who passed on 7/8/2020

c 8/8/2020




3 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page