top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdiela Akoo

What Do Creatives Get Up To When They're Quiet?


What do creatives get up to when they're quiet? - Adiela Akoo blog post
What do creatives get up to when they're quiet?

Many people have been curious about the reasons why I have been quiet and taking a break from my social platforms. To those who have been checking in on me from time to time, I'm sending you love and hugs. You are highly appreciated.


As you know, I am a creative. But what many of you may not know is that I am also an intuitive empath. This gift manifested at an early age. I recall an incident, one Saturday morning when I was eleven years old. My mum, a single parent, often left me with a list of chores to do to keep me occupied while she was away at work. This particular morning, in our two-room flat, it included cleaning the oven.


My maternal grandmother lived a couple of doors away and a cousin, around my age, popped by for a visit. She then came over to visit me and as we both sat crouched in front of the open oven chatting while I cleaned, I was suddenly struck by an overwhelming urge to check up on our one-year-old cousin who lived with my gran (at the insistence of my late grandfather, just before his passing).


Now, in the block where we lived at that time was a large field with a wide well-trodden dirt pathway leading to Church Street. The overgrown grass on either side of the pathway was mostly inhabited by a few chickens (I have a sneaky suspicion of where they might have come from and may write about it sometime) and some field mice. My mum, recently fearing that a mouse had invaded our abode, left out a small bowl of rat poison on the floor of the bedroom that we shared.


And that's where I intuitively found our one-year-old cousin!


She had followed my other cousin, unnoticed, from my gran's place and had snuck in, still undetected, through the now open door. I got to her in the nick of time and grabbed her little hand just as she was about to put the bright blue powder into her mouth. I may have shouted out her name in panic as I grabbed her hand and, either from shock, the sense of urgency in my voice, or both, she immediately burst into tears, blue powder all over her little chin.


As a baby of a few tender months who had just learned to roll over, she would get excited at the mere sound of my voice whenever I entered my gran's place and would start to roll in my direction often rolling right off the bed into my arms, much to everyone's combined horror (at the prospect of her falling) and amusement. She would not budge for anyone else. As a toddler, she sat on the steps outside my gran's flat watching over the field, waiting patiently for me to return from school. And I always saved half my lunch sandwich for her which she accepted with the eagerness of a child receiving a chocolate bar.


A few years later, when her baby brother was around three or four, I dreamt that he had drowned. I called my aunt to warn her. That weekend, they attended a braai on a farm, and while the older kids were running around playing, he followed them and, in the blink of an eye, somehow fell into the pool. But, because of the warning, my aunt was extra vigilant and kept checking on him often so was able to quickly rescue him, thus avoiding a tragedy.


This precognitive tendency often freaked my mum out. We were expecting guests one day but I remember telling her that the phone was about to ring, it would be one of the guests, who I named, and said would relay a certain message excusing all of them from attending. Within five minutes, the phone rang and what I said came to pass. She was visibly upset. In hindsight, it may have been because of the situation with the guests and the late cancelation after she had already prepared, but she scolded me at that moment saying: "Stop it! Just stop it!'. I thought then that I had done something wrong and over the years tried hard to tune out and fit in.


As any empath would tell you, it is initially very difficult trying to deal with not just your own emotions, but everyone else's as well, particularly when you haven't yet become aware of the difference. I remember attending the funeral of an acquaintance and sobbing my heart out. A person later commented, 'I had no idea that you were so close to (the deceased)." What it truly was though, was that I was 'sensing' the sorrow of those in the room. But I remained baffled for quite a while by these strange emotions until I discovered, somewhere along the way, that it was actually because I was empathic.


Learning various healing modalities over the years, including spiritual meditative practices, and the studies on my journey to becoming a Reiki Master, have all helped me ground and protect my energy and also differentiate my emotions from those around me to the point where I am now, gratefully, able to attend a funeral and not feel overwhelmed.


However, since the onslaught of the pandemic and all that it brought in its wake, my system has taken a beating from the global sense of overwhelm that had been building up. I needed time out to be quiet... to process... to transmute that energy... to take those lemons and make lemonade. So, like the many creatives worldwide (notice all the Etsy stores that have mushroomed), I found that channeling that energy into something creative, whether baking, gardening, writing, art, or any 'lemonade', to be most cathartic.


The 'Lemonade' I've Made:)


I may have needed to transmute quite a bit of that energy it seems. (I'm rather surprised too at having over 1700 new products - refer to the video above for a sneak peek). But I'm pleased that all those who have been asking for my quote mugs can now easily get them in my Marvelous Mugs collection.


There are Trays, Teapots n Pitchers to go with some mugs so you can build a set, and some Delectable Edibles too if you're planning a tea party or wish to elevate an event.


If you love the quote mugs then do take a look at the Cute Keychains collection as well - some have motivational or inspiring quotes and you can add your name or initial on others.


There's also a wide selection of Tantalising T-shirts, Terrific Tanks, Caps, Hot Hoodies, Attractive Totes, and Captivating Clothing for great styling ideas.


There's some Exciting Electronics. Pretty Pillows and Poufs to add that cozy touch to your space, Just Clocks for striking timepieces, and much, much more like Baby Love, which is one of my favourites.


Some of these items can be customized with a name or initial and all make great gifts.


There are many full collections to browse like Ode to Love, which started this merch ball rolling, and the Irresistible Ice Cream Collection with its many 'flavours' all inspired by my husband's love for ice cream - he devours it daily come rain or shine.


There's also the popular OVERFLOW collection available in different hues, WISH, and of course, Lost in a Quatrain.



So, what do creatives get up to when they're quiet?

They CREATE, of course!



Now that you know what I've been doing, I hope that you browse the collections and find something irresistible. If you do and want to share the love, please tag me (#Adiela Akoo) on social media. I would love to know what you chose.


Also, if you'd like to be updated when new products are added, please follow my store to receive a notification.


Mwah!



p.s: You can spread and receive the love by becoming an affiliate. You earn around 15% from each item you share which leads to a sale. Visit the site for registration details.



p.p.s. Being a creative is not an exclusive club. We all have innate creativity within us. As the saying goes: 'Know thyself and thou wilt know thy Creator". Just look around at the breathtaking beauty He has created, the intricate designs and vibrant colours found freely in nature. Take a second look at the intelligent use of colours - so much blue found in the skies and seas of the world and green in the grasses and leaves. These are healing colours, gifted to us in merciful abundance! It's no wonder why we feel better after being out strolling in nature. Take a closer look at the magnificent design of your body. Surely, the One who created it has left something of Himself within it. Do we mere mortals not leave something of ourselves in our creations? Surely, He does the same! We need only go within to find and access those remnant sparks... as above, so below.

21 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page